PrintFont SizeShare
Decrease Text Increase Text

Meet Our Board

A sixteen member Board of Trustees serves as the governing body of the Jewish Community Foundation. The Trustees oversee operations, set policies and make final decisions on all grant awards. They have a deep, personal commitment to the Greater Hartford Jewish community. They lead the Foundation through their expertise, knowledge of our community, and passionate belief in the power of philanthropy to change lives. View the list of Board responsibilities here.

Board Members: Access the Trustee Portal Here

Gayle W. Temkin, Chair
Community Leader

Merrill Mandell, Vice Chair
Community Leader

Gerald B. Goldberg, Secretary
CEO & Co-Founder - GYL Financial Synergies, LLC

  Elysa Graber-Lipperman, Treasurer

Leigh A. Newman, Immediate Past Chair
Partner, Day Pitney, LLP 

Jessica L. Fish

Community Leader

Joshua Gottfried
Co-Founder and Principal of Gottfried & Somberg Wealth Management, LLC, 

Walter L. Harrison
President Emeritus - University of Hartford

Ethan Goldman
Chief Financial Officer - FLEXcon Holdings Trust

Rachel Rubin
Deputy Director of Athletics/Chief of Staff, UConn, and Executive Secretary, Board of Trustees


Cyral A. Sheldon
Community Leader

Julie R. Spivak

Owner - Equity Management Corporation

Sidney Ulreich
Radiologist, New Britain Radiological Associates, PC

  Randall H. Weinstock
Vice President, Actuarial and Underwriting, Humana

Robert K. Yass
Vice President and Associate General Counsel - The Hartford, Retired

Adjunct Lecturer, University of CT School of Law  

Carolyn Gitlin, Ex Officio 
Chair - Jewish Federation of Greater Hartford

  • Thomas M. Divine
  • Philip D. Feltman*
  • Hinda N. Fisher*
  • Blanche S. Goldenberg
  • Robert B. Goldfarb
  • Michael Suisman*
  *Of blessed memory
  • Eleanor N. Caplan
  • Jerome E. Caplan*
  • I. Martin Fierberg*
  • Brian Fierston
  • David H. Fierston
  • Bruce A. Fischman
  • Stanley D. Fisher*
  • Lisa Fishman
  • Evelyn S. Gilman*
  • William H. Goldfarb
  • Arnold C. Greenberg
  • Morton Handel
  • Joseph D. Hurwitz*
  • Jill Hutensky
  • Bernard Kaplan*
  • Steven C. Kleinman
  • Bernhard L. Kohn*
  • Simon Konover*
  • Georgette Koopman*
  • Richard Koopman
  • Michele G. Kostin
  • Katharine I. Lavitt*
  • Hartzel Z. Lebed*
  • Sheri Lublin
  • Joyce D. Mandell
  • Alan M. Mendelson
  • David R. Miller
  • Hyman L. Moore*
  • Harold Moskowitz
  • Louis Nassau*
  • Daniel M. Neiditz
  • Moses Neiditz*
  • Hon. Jon O. Newman  
  • Abraham A. Ribicoff*
  • Emma Robington*
  • A. Mark Rosen
  • Gideon Rutenberg
  • Abraham I. Savin*
  • Peter M. Savin*
  • Andrew M. Schatz
  • Ralph M. Shulansky*
  • Howard J. Siegal* 
  • Donald Silpe 
  • Rabbi Harold Silver
  • Melvin A. Simon
  • Robert S. Siskin*
  • Edward A. Suisman*
  • Elliott D. Tertes
  • Melvin W. Title*
  • Leonard M. Troub*
  • Marjorie M. Walton*
  • Gail S. Weinstein
  • Robert K. Yass
  • Henry M. Zachs
  • Jessica P. Zachs
  • Judith M. Zachs
    *Of blessed memory

If you are a member of the Board of Trustees, please click the link below to access the private Trustee portal.

Board of Trustees Portal

Looking for the list of the Board of Trustees? Go to the first tab on this page, called "Current Trustees."

Sign Up For JCF Enews